RSS

…and the Next…

17 Apr

Having posted that I’d printed off Mystery in Morocco and got such a lot of encouraging replies, I kept looking at the pile of paper. It became covered with a variety of things and was beginning to disappear. Then yesterday, I uncovered the manuscript, spirited it away and curled up on my bed and started reading!

I’m now a number of chapters in, wincing at some of the inelegant turns of phrase used, but excited by the new ideas for filling the gap when I pull out the rogue whodunit that is still lurking at the beginning.

It’s good to be back with my story; even better to be back with my characters who I love – all of them, even the flaky Johnny 😀

Thanks all of you for your encouragement. Without it I don’t think I would have made that final effort to start.

Prue xxx

 
8 Comments

Posted by on April 17, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

8 responses to “…and the Next…

  1. nancyrae4

    April 17, 2013 at 11:45 pm

    I’m so glad you’ve returned to your story. Treasure the great parts, adjust the rest and keep moving forward:)

     
    • Prue

      April 18, 2013 at 2:57 pm

      Will do, Nancy. Onward! 🙂

       
  2. Mike Schulenberg

    April 18, 2013 at 12:24 am

    That’s great news…I’m glad you’ve decided to dive back in 🙂

     
    • Prue

      April 18, 2013 at 2:58 pm

      Dip one toe in is nearer to what I’m doing, rather than diving.
      I might splash around a bit once I’m in though 🙂

       
  3. Kirsten

    April 18, 2013 at 12:26 am

    You’re so welcome! There were many times when your steadfast dedication inspired me as well, so I’m happy to return the favor.
    Reading a draft straight through is such a sublime pleasure, even if it’s rough in places! I may have to indulge in a bit of that someday soon. 🙂

     
    • Prue

      April 18, 2013 at 3:01 pm

      Bless you Kirsten! I’m amazed that I could inspire anyone, and so glad you were inspired.
      You’re right, it is a pleasure to read through because I can see golden nuggets glinting amongst all the dross.

      I do like the way we all help each other along, even if we’re in different continents. It’s awesome!

       
  4. rabiagale

    April 21, 2013 at 2:38 am

    That’s awesome, Prue! Think of me when you get to the stage of wanting other eyes on the story! 🙂

     
  5. Prue

    April 22, 2013 at 10:28 am

    Rabia! Thank you so much for your generous offer!
    At the moment, after a year of not looking at it, I’m squirming at the gaffs, wincing at the awfulness of the writing, and still enchanted by my characters and the overall idea.
    There’s hope yet 😀

     

Leave a Reply

 
