RSS

The Next Step …

06 Apr

Time to blow the dust off this blog and get going again 🙂

Last week I spent some time printing off a copy of my would-be-novel Mystery in Morocco. It’s sat next to me on my desk and has been there, untouched, since I printed it off.

Next stage is to make time to read it before starting the second revision. There are still some major changes needed to remove those stories which will insist on hanging on in there when they are just not wanted 😀

I still feel nervous about starting with it again but it isn’t going to get finished if I do nothing. There’s a nasty little voice in my head saying, “It’s jinxed. Keep away!”

Somehow I think Holly would have no truck with that little voice and would jump on it fast. I need to get me some of whatever Holly has 🙂

Hope you’re all getting on ok, and that whatever you are working on is coming along nicely. I think of you all often.

Prue x

 
12 Comments

Posted by on April 6, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

12 responses to “The Next Step …

  1. Kirsten

    April 6, 2013 at 10:41 pm

    There you are! I just happened to be sitting in front of my computer when this popped into my Inbox, and I’m so excited to see you back. You’re absolutely right, Holly wouldn’t let anything stand between her and finishing that book!
    I’ve been away from my revision for about three weeks now, and but I’m back at it. So close to being finished with the course that I can taste it, and it sure will be yummy! Then I need to go back in and change some plot points that just don’t work. (I know, not in the rules, but it’s my first story, and I do feel as if I know what I’m doing.)
    Then, who knows? Query it? Post excerpts? Revise the next one?
    I’m excited to see you back on the journey with us. 🙂

     
    • Prue

      April 8, 2013 at 12:01 pm

      Hi Kirsten, thanks for dropping by and confirming what I thought of Holly 🙂
      Good to hear that you’ve had a break – you’ll be back with fresh eyes and mind. Good luck with finishing.
      Don’t get too excited about what I’m doing – think of me as a snail acting in slo-mo 😀
      Prue x

       
  2. Mike Schulenberg

    April 7, 2013 at 12:55 am

    Hi Prue,

    I’m glad to hear you’ve been making some moves toward picking things back up with your book. I think nervousness is natural, but the important thing is to just take tiny steps forward and don’t listen to the nasty voice. My personal experience with nasty voices is that their advice isn’t the best.

    Thanks for updating us on how you’re doing.

     
    • Prue

      April 8, 2013 at 12:04 pm

      Hi Mike, good to see you again. Thanks very much for your words of advice – especially with that little nasty voice. One part of my brain knows you are right. The other, emotional part is gibbering in the background saying ‘last time you worked on that novel, Dez got ill. And then when you started working on it again, he died’.
      Cause and effect can be seen where cause and effect are just not connected. I need to bite the bullet and get reading!

      How are you getting on with your schooling? It’s an age since I dropped by your site so I’ve missed any news you may have posted.

      Prue x

       
      • Mike Schulenberg

        April 8, 2013 at 8:02 pm

        When you pick your novel back up, just take things slow, keep it low pressure for yourself, and see how things go. I think as you spend more time getting reacquainted with your fiction, the other voice will grow quiet.

        School’s been going really well, thank you. It keeps me pretty busy, so I haven’t been updating my blog as much as I’d like, but I’m making good grades and it’s all moving right along. At some point in the near future I’ll probably have to settle on what I’m actually going to get my degree in. My list of possibilities is very short, but it’s still hard to choose.

         
  3. nancyrae4

    April 7, 2013 at 1:51 am

    Yay! You’re back with us.

    Drum out those nasty voices with the pounding of your fingers on the keyboard or the scratching of your pen on paper. Onward! (as Holly would say.)

     
  4. Prue

    April 8, 2013 at 12:06 pm

    Hi Nancy! (Or do you have another name…it’s so long since I was here I forget, sorry).
    I laughed when I read your comment about the pounding of my fingers drumming out those voices 😀
    And thanks for the reminder of Holly’s ‘Onward!’
    Just now I need to get onward to the shop to get something for lunch.

    Ok, you and the others have convinced me. This afternoon I will read the first chapter. Ok? Right. I’ll do it. Onward!

    Prue x

     
    • nancyrae4

      April 8, 2013 at 3:31 pm

      Nancy is fine. Keep us informed of your progress!

       
  5. D J Mills

    April 10, 2013 at 4:38 am

    I was procrastinating because of those voices in my head that said “why waste time writing another cosy mystery when the last one is not selling”. I answered that voice by saying “I am writing for me. You are only tagging along for the ride.” Not sure if it worked but I feel like writing scene sentences so that is a start.

    I thought I would visit a few blogs while thinking of scenes and glad to see you taking small steps with your editing. I am cheering you on.

     
    • Prue

      April 10, 2013 at 5:13 pm

      Thanks for the cheers Diane 🙂
      And thanks for offering your response to those nasty voices. Must try that!
      Prue x

       
  6. findingmycreature

    April 13, 2013 at 2:24 am

    Hi Prue, so lovely to see you here! It is jarring getting back into revision after taking a break and I’m still trying to find my groove so I know what you mean! I look forward to supporting and following your journey and I know you got this! Xx

     
    • Prue

      April 13, 2013 at 11:46 am

      Hi FMC! Good to see you again. Good luck with finding your groove 🙂 And thanks for your kind words and support
      Prue xxx

       

Leave a Reply

 
