RSS

Happy New Year!

02 Jan

Starting a new year without Mr Prue was unbelievably painful. But today the sun shone and I went out walking with the local ramblers group, then had a long telephone conversation this afternoon withΒ a friend who lives a long way away, which was lovely.

Yesterday (the last day of 2012) I printed out the last version of The Green Ribbon, the short story I wrote in 2011. A few people were kind enough to read it and make valuable comments – and that’s where things stopped when Mr Prue became ill again early this year.

So the story is sat here waiting for me to read through those comments and to incorporate them before starting work on a second revision. That’s my goal for this week. Wish me luck!

I wish you all a happy, healthy, successful and fun-filled New Year, and I hope it brings to those of you who write many words on wings of inspiration.

Love from Prue x

 
16 Comments

Posted by on January 2, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

16 responses to “Happy New Year!

  1. findingmycreature

    January 2, 2013 at 1:13 am

    So lovely to see you on here. I hope 2013 will creatively productive and fulfilling for you. Look forward to hearing about your journey with The Green Ribbon πŸ™‚ Such a lovely title! xx

     
    • Prue

      January 2, 2013 at 12:31 pm

      Hi Anushka. Thanks very much for your kind wishes.
      Love the quote on your blog – People with goals succeed, because they know where they’re going. I need to get me some goals πŸ™‚
      Have a good year, and keep on writing! x

       
  2. nancyrae4

    January 2, 2013 at 1:50 am

    Hi Prue. Welcome back. Keep us informed on your word weaving.

     
    • Prue

      January 2, 2013 at 12:32 pm

      Thanks Nancy. As for weaving, I feel all fingers and thumbs right now – and a little nervous πŸ™‚

       
  3. Kirsten

    January 2, 2013 at 2:12 am

    It’s great to see you back here. πŸ™‚
    I think you’ll be surprised with what your muse comes up with in response to the comments on your project! Revisions can be incredibly rewarding.
    Hope your New Year gets off to a good start!

     
    • Prue

      January 2, 2013 at 12:33 pm

      Thanks Kirsten!
      I think my muse has been on vacation, or asleep, or something but maybe she’ll wake up once I start reading. Today is grey and it’s going to rain so just the day to sit indoors with pen and paper.

      My new year has already got off to a good start with all you guys coming over to wish me well.
      Thanks πŸ™‚

       
  4. Lynda Wilcox

    January 3, 2013 at 10:59 am

    Nice to see you back, Prue. Hope 2013 is a better year for you. Keep writing and I hope you get the Green Ribbon published. It’s too good a story to languish on your hard drive!

     
  5. Prue

    January 4, 2013 at 12:38 am

    Hi Lynda. I hope 2013 is a good year for you too. Thanks for your good wishes, and your comment about The Green Ribbon.

    I think the beginning needs some attention and had an idea about that this morning while making my sandwiches – nice to have my muse throw me a morsel again πŸ™‚
    Enthused, I did a little more on it today after I came home from work.

     
  6. rabiagale

    January 7, 2013 at 3:20 am

    Lovely to see you, Prue. I am so glad that you have companionship in the midst of all your sorrow.

    I loved the sweet romance of The Green Ribbon. I have a soft spot for stories like those, and I hope you’ll write many more. πŸ™‚

     
  7. Prue

    January 7, 2013 at 6:19 pm

    Hi Rabia! Thanks very much and it’s lovely to see you here too πŸ™‚

    Thanks too for your kind words about The Green Ribbon. I’ve now read through most of the comments – only one more person’s to go and then I can start to consider where and what changes are needed. My muse woke up at one point and threw out a few suggestions before disappearing again. That was quite exciting. πŸ™‚

     
  8. D J Mills

    February 9, 2013 at 12:45 am

    Good luck with your revision editing. I also love the quote on goal setting leads to success on Anushka’s site. πŸ™‚

     
    • Prue

      February 9, 2013 at 10:00 pm

      Thanks Diane. My life is so busy at present that I’m hardly here long enough to do any writing! I’ll get back to writing when the time is right.

      Yesterday I verbally went through the story of Mystery in Morocco. I don’t know what that was about – perhaps a sort of touching base with it again. There’s a lot about loss (and friendship and love) in it. It didn’t upset me as much as I thought it would though. My characters are still there, and I still love them – which is good news.

      As for goal setting – not too good at that either at present πŸ™‚
      I decided on one thing to do in a day. If I do more, that’s a bonus.

       
  9. Anonymous

    March 1, 2013 at 9:53 pm

    Hey Prue! Sorry I haven’t dropped by…good to hear you’re up and about. I love walking, especially if I don’t have any place in particular to go.
    And the great thing about writing is that it waits patiently until you’re ready to say hello again. Good luck with the stories!

     
    • Prue

      March 3, 2013 at 10:46 pm

      Hi Anonymous …thanks, yes, I’m up and about – better some days than others but still, up and about.

      Writing does wait but I’m allowing a lot of other things to get in the way! I’ve a few things which I’ve promised to do for others, and there is my desk to clear (and the floor round it!) and then I must sit down and at least read my beloved book … and maybe find my way back to Holly’s forum again.

       
  10. Texanne

    March 3, 2013 at 10:23 pm

    Hi, Prue–

    It’s spring here in Texas. No leaves on the oak trees yet, but the fruit trees are swelling with buds. I’ll be out looking for bluebonnets before too long.

    Spring will come to England, too. I think of you often and look forward to seeing you around the forums again–though seeing you here is lovely, too. Persevere. πŸ˜‰

     
    • Prue

      March 3, 2013 at 10:50 pm

      Well hello Stranger! *hugs* πŸ˜€
      Glad to hear that spring has arrived in Texas. Spring is just around the corner – the snowdrops are out, a few blossoms have dared to open on the ornamental pear and the daffodil leaves are up. Today the air had lost that nasty cold edge it’s had for a long time, and the birds are pairing up. In fact, I noticed a starling fly up to the front gutter – there’s always a starling nests under the roof their in spring!
      I’ll be back on Holly’s forum … one day …

       

Leave a Reply

 
