RSS

The Reading Continues

02 Sep

The last week has found me dissolving in tears more often than I like to admit but that goes with the territory, as the saying goes. Bad enough when I’m home but it happened in the building society last week.

I’d gone in to sort out a number of problems and the woman behind the counter got a little short with me. It doesn’t take much to set me off and there I was, in tears, with a long queue of people behind me. But the woman burst into action, ushered me through a door into an office, got me a cuppa and sorted everything out. Her manner changed and she was so very kind to me.

Before I headed home, I went into the bookshop and treated myself to and Agatha Christie’s The Moving Finger, Trudi Canavan’s The Ambassador’s Mission (Book 1 of the Traitor Spy Trilogy), and Eric Newby’s On the Shores of the Mediterranean. The latter is autobiographical, written in the 80’s. Newby was something of an explorer and his Short Walk in the Hindu Kush is amazing, as is The Last Grain Race.

So, I’ve started with Eric Newby’s book. He was in Italy during the second world war and was captured by the Germans but escaped to the Apennines. A Slovenian woman there hid him and later they married and she accompanied him on some of his travels.

In the book so far, they have turned up at their house in north Tuscany, in Italy, and head off for Naples where they start their travels round the Mediterranean in a clockwise direction (his wife’s practical suggestion when Newby couldn’t decide where to start).

It’s one of his later books, and so far not as dramatic as the two I mentioned above. Early days yet because I’m only on page 23!

Still no writing other than business letters but thanks to Kirsten over on A Scenic Route I went looking for the word ‘Look’ in chapter 1 of A Mystery in Morocco.

For those of you who may not have seen this before, here is the paragraph:

Juliana Davenport’s dark eyes were brimming with laughter, mischief and adoration in equal measure as she looked up at her partner. Her youthful face was becomingly tinged with pink from the exertion of waltzing round the ballroom, and from the realisation that Lord Eversleigh’s right hand, placed lightly but firmly in the small of her back, was holding her closer than was likely to be thought proper by some of the older guests.

It made me remember how much I love this story, how it has such a promising beginning, and how this changes as the story goes from London to France to Morocco. I love my characters and have apologised to them profusely for what I did to them, but they rose to the occasion each time (with one exception!) and did things I’d never dreamed of 🙂

 
16 Comments

Posted by on September 2, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

16 responses to “The Reading Continues

  1. Mike Schulenberg

    September 2, 2012 at 7:29 pm

    Eric Newby sounds like he’s had some interesting experiences. I might have to try one of his books sometime.

    I like the paragraph from your WIP, and wouldn’t mind seeing a larger excerpt sometime, whenever you’re ready, of course 🙂

     
  2. Prue

    September 3, 2012 at 12:04 am

    Hi Mike. Try A short walk in the hindu kush or The Last grain race. This guy did some awesome things when he was younger!

    Thanks for your comment about my paragraph. You can read the first chapter if you would like to.

     
  3. Diane J Cornwell

    September 3, 2012 at 1:54 am

    More hugs from me. I remember crying at all odd times too, but you will get over it. It just needs time and an understanding that it is right to cry as you progress through the grieving process. Enjoy your reading.

     
    • Prue

      September 3, 2012 at 6:41 pm

      Thanks for the hugs! The crying comes and goes. The misery is constant. Glad I can at least read now, and find some enjoyment in it.

       
  4. Kirsten

    September 3, 2012 at 5:12 am

    There is nothing like a good book to soothe a frazzled brain. It sounds like you found a few really good reads!
    I’m glad I was able to coax you to open up your work-in-progress, even if just to rummage around in it for a short while. I really hope you’re inspired to work on it again sometime soon.
    (I just finished your first chapter, and I loved it. 🙂 )

     
    • Prue

      September 3, 2012 at 6:43 pm

      Yes, it really made me want to find the word ‘look’ and, as you say, rummage around a bit. I remembered my love of the characters. Because the book deals with loss of various kinds, it’s probably a bit too challenging at the moment but I might have a go at reading a bit more.
      Glad you enjoyed the first chapter. One day I’ll work on it again.

       
  5. nancyrae4

    September 3, 2012 at 3:19 pm

    You’ll be continually amazed at the kindness you encounter on your journey through the grieving process.
    And, thankyou for sharing your first paragraph. It’s comforting to read something you wrote and feel proud of (rightfully so!), and it’s reassuring to know your story will be there when you’re ready to return. 🙂

     
    • Prue

      September 3, 2012 at 6:48 pm

      Nancy, some people are absolutely amazing. They are like angels disguised as humans! Even the smallest kindness registers – perhaps because when we’re feeling vulnerable we are much more sensitive to our own feelings and how they change in response to others.
      Thanks for your comments about the first paragraph.

       
  6. rabiagale

    September 3, 2012 at 9:59 pm

    I like the sound of the Eric Newby books. I’m going to stick them in my Amazon wishlist right now. 🙂

    I would love to read your mystery whenever you’re ready for beta eyes on it.

     
  7. Prue

    September 4, 2012 at 12:10 pm

    The earlier books written when he was younger are better than the later books. Thanks for the offer of beta-ing my mystery! There were huge changes on the second revision which I haven’t yet finished. One day I’ll get back to it…

     
  8. Ramble

    September 4, 2012 at 5:25 pm

    I’m going to add Mr. newly to my ‘stuff to read’ list as well. Sounds like a good writer.

    And I like your paragraph…you show a lot in a very few words! It makes me want to sneak back and tweak my WIP some more…heh. Ah, rewrites…

    It’s true. Even if someone else is having a tough day, they can turn around and help out another in distress. I’m glad the clerk was so kind to you with a quiet place and a cuppa (which, in my pitiful grasp of slang, means coffee? Tea? Or something equally warm and tasty, I hope…)

     
  9. Prue

    September 8, 2012 at 12:25 am

    Start with his early stuff Ramble – his later books can be a bit turgid. You have been warned! 🙂

    Thanks for your comments on the paragraph. Pity the rest of my book isn’t like that 😀 Perhaps one day…

    A ‘cuppa’ is traditionally a cup of tea but these days is also used for coffee.

     
  10. Ramble

    September 8, 2012 at 6:02 pm

    Ooh…turgid. As my mom would say, “One of those big college words like ‘mayonnaise.’ ” I’ll slide that one into conversation randomly this week and see if anyone notices.

     
  11. Prue

    September 9, 2012 at 7:29 pm

    😀 😀 😀 Nice word, turgid. Use with discretion 😉

     
  12. Ramble

    October 1, 2012 at 5:19 pm

    Just checking in…still slogging through lesson seven of HTRYN and wondering why I’m having such trouble…heh. How’s by you, Prue? I hope you’re out getting a little sunshine.

     
  13. Prue

    October 3, 2012 at 5:05 pm

    I’m getting out in the sunshine thanks Ramble. Keep going with lesson 7. It’s tough but worth it! Thanks for dropping by 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
