RSS

Reading Again

21 Aug

I’ve been listening to the radio a lot recently and was listening to a serial of E.M. Forster’s Room With a View. It got to the bit about skinny dipping and I had the urge to read the book again.

It’s been a gentle joy to read it again, just the right sort of thing to get me back into reading.

No creative writing yet. I’m still bogged down with all sorts of business letters which are driving me mad. Not all companies seem to know what they are doing; some get things wrong like the company who changed a joint membership into an individual membership. I may not have noticed except they got my name wrong. While I was talking on the phone, I realised that joint to individual should mean a refund of some kind. The person on the end of the phone didn’t know and made it obvious she didn’t care. It took three requests by me to get her to transfer me. I ended up sounding like my first headmistress at high school! Eeek! But it worked. And yes, I am entitled to a refund. Other companies send out standard letters even though they have been informed of Dez’s passing which strikes me as callous and inhuman. They also come in for the headmistress treatment.

The postman has been bringing more letters each day than I can deal with in a day but today, there was only one bill and a few adverts. Fingers crossed that continues and I may get to the end of this surreal paperchase before long.

Hope you are all continuing to write and making progress with your WiPs. Thinking of you all

Prue xxx

 
11 Comments

Posted by on August 21, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

11 responses to “Reading Again

  1. Rabia

    August 22, 2012 at 12:53 am

    I’m so glad that you posted, Prue. I know this is a hard time for you, and all the paperwork probably makes the your heart ache all the more, but I am so glad that you can come online and share with us.

    I’ve never read Room With a View, but your description if it as “gentle joy” makes me want to give it a try.

     
    • Prue

      August 22, 2012 at 8:06 pm

      Hi Rabia. Yes, life is a bit hard going at present but while it could be better, it’s also true that it could be worse so I plod on. Some companies deal with paperwork very well; others make mistakes which cause more bother. I end up sounding like my old headmistress!

      Room with a View is a very English novel written in the early years of last century. It’s my favorite E.M.Forster although I haven’t read all of his works. I saw the film adaptation years ago with Helena Bonham Carter as Lucy and a very English star-studded cast. It was glorious 🙂

       
  2. nancyrae4

    August 22, 2012 at 2:29 am

    Reading is a gift of joy. It’s a beautiful way to renew yourself. It’s good to see your posts again!

     
    • Prue

      August 22, 2012 at 8:07 pm

      Thanks Nancy. I have to admit that reading again is a real relief, and yes, a gift of joy.

       
  3. Mike Schulenberg

    August 22, 2012 at 5:27 am

    I’ve recently rediscovered reading myself. It had been a few months since I read a book, so I finally hunkered down and finished Journey to the West and now I’m looking forward to what’s next on my reading list as soon as I decide what it’s going to be 🙂

    Looking at the description of Room With a View, it sounds well outside of my normal reading habits, but I might give it a shot sometime. I’ve been making an effort to read something every once in a while that I normally wouldn’t, thinking it might help me grow as both a reader and a writer.

     
    • Prue

      August 22, 2012 at 8:10 pm

      Sounds as if you’ve been really busy. Not a bad thing 🙂
      Room with a View is very English, but English from the beginning of last century when things were different. Give it a go but take it slowly because books of that era were not meant to be rushed through. Savour each sentence and enjoy the sending-up of the absurdities of Brits abroad.

       
      • Mike Schulenberg

        August 22, 2012 at 10:39 pm

        Sounds like something that will fit in quite well with whatever it is I’ll end up having to read in my upcoming college English class 🙂

         
  4. Kirsten

    August 23, 2012 at 2:32 am

    You go, Prue! Don’t let those unfeeling louts get you down. I always ask myself how, with so many quality people unemployed, how someone so incompetent can have a job?

    It’s good to see that reading came back to you all on its own. The writing will do the same, I believe, given time. That is, I think, as it should be.

    Be kind to yourself during this trying time.

     
    • Prue

      August 24, 2012 at 9:32 am

      One company sent two different letters which had conflicting information. After the first letter I phoned and thought I’d sorted it out. Then came the second letter from a different department which threw everything into confusion. I phoned and expressed my dissatisfaction.
      This company have taken it seriously because it flagged up lack of in-house communication. They sent a letter saying they were dealing with it. Then someone phoned to apologise profusely. She said they would like to send some flowers if that was ok.
      I was very touched because not only were they offering flowers, they actually asked if it was ok to send them. Wonderful!

       
  5. Ramble

    August 28, 2012 at 5:00 pm

    Hm…I almost hate to admit I’m reading the Twilight series right now…heh. I was the last holdout in a large group of friends, and teen angst really isn’t my genre. The second book has definite improvement. Still, it’s good practice in studying character development and plotting.

    And go, Helena Bonham Carter! I love her in pretty much anything she does. A versitile actress.

    Glad to see you’re getting some time to read, Prue. As for the schoolmarm mail, I suggest inviting friends over for a nice campfire- cook a few weenies, roast marshmallows, torch some paperwork…

     
  6. Prue

    August 28, 2012 at 5:26 pm

    Torch the paperwork? 😀 It might come to that. You’ve no idea of the tangle that the National Trust have concocted – and they now owe me ninety pounds. Better not torch their paperwork just yet…

    A campfire would be nice. Maybe when I get a few people round to help dismantle the glasshouse we’ll do that. Mr Prue was renovating it but had done nothing for 18 months. The wooden struts on the roof are rotting and the glass is going to come tumbling down soon.
    Once we remove the glass, we can torch the rotten wood … mmmm….sounds promising 🙂
    Thanks for the great idea!

     

Leave a Reply

 
