RSS

Sad news

16 Jul

I’m so very sorry to say that Mr Prue died last night. He was in hospital and collapsed. There was nothing they could do for him. I still don’t know what happened but may find out more later this week.

Mr Prue’s name was Dez and he was a wonderful man. He was the most precious thing in my life. I loved him dearly, and our love kept us going through the years. I cannot get my head round what happened, and I cannot contemplate life without him.

Thank you all for you concern, good wishes and kind thoughts.

I will come back here when all the things which need to be done have been done, and when I stop panicking at the thought of life alone. My book, as with many other things right now, seems pointless. I know it isn’t, and Mr Prue wouldn’t want me to think that. But it must be put aside for another day.

Love to you all x

 

 
28 Comments

Posted by on July 16, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

28 responses to “Sad news

  1. Mike Schulenberg

    July 16, 2012 at 9:58 pm

    I’m so sorry for your loss, Prue. My thoughts are with you.

     
    • Prue

      July 18, 2012 at 8:22 pm

      Thanks Mike.

       
  2. imotherofpearl

    July 16, 2012 at 11:56 pm

    Prue, I’m so very sorry to hear about Dez, and I feel for you all the way from the other side of the world. Thinking of you as you go through this difficult time and wishing you strength.
    – Jane

     
    • Prue

      July 18, 2012 at 8:23 pm

      Thanks for your thoughts Jane.

       
  3. Kirsten

    July 17, 2012 at 12:10 am

    I’m typing with tears in my eyes. I so sorry to hear the sad news about Dez.
    Know that my heart goes out to you during this difficult time, and I can’t even imagine all the feelings that must be going through your head right now.
    The writing will come back when the time is right. Take care of yourself. My thoughts and prayers are with you.

     
    • Prue

      July 18, 2012 at 8:24 pm

      I feel dire some of the time, and strangely ok occasionally which seems wrong. It’s difficult to believe it’s happened. I know the writing will come back but that day seems a long way off.
      Thanks for your thoughts and prayers.

       
  4. rabiagale

    July 17, 2012 at 12:54 am

    Oh, Prue! I am so terribly sorry to hear this. Know that my thoughts and prayers are with you during this difficult time. *HUGS*

     
    • Prue

      July 18, 2012 at 8:25 pm

      Thanks for your thoughts and prayers Rabia. They all help. *hugs*

       
  5. findingmycreature

    July 17, 2012 at 1:51 am

    All my love and prayers are with you Prue. Dez sounds like an incredible man who fell in love with an incredible woman. I can’t imagine what you are going through but give yourself permission to take as much time as you need to do what you need to do. Love and light, Anushka xox

     
    • Prue

      July 18, 2012 at 8:27 pm

      Thanks Anushka. Dez was an incredible man to me, and very, very special. I can’t get my head round him not being here. It seems impossible.
      Thanks too for the reminder to take time.

       
  6. rae101049

    July 17, 2012 at 2:55 am

    Dear Prue, please know that I am thinking of you. I wish I could give you a hug.
    NancyRae

     
    • Prue

      July 18, 2012 at 8:27 pm

      Thanks Nancy *hug*

       
  7. Ramble

    July 17, 2012 at 3:29 am

    I am so sorry to hear of Dez’s sudden passing. I’m sending good thoughts and hope you take all the time you need to take care of yourself. And please let us know if there’s anything we can do to help.
    Hugs

     
    • Prue

      July 18, 2012 at 8:29 pm

      Thanks for your thoughts Ramble, and for your offer of help. There’s not much anyone can do right now except what you’re all doing – sending messages so that I feel supported. There is some comfort in that. *hug*

       
  8. Ramble

    August 3, 2012 at 1:22 am

    Hey, Prue! Just dropping a note to let you know folks are still thinking about you. I hope you’re taking care of yourself. :::virtual hug:::

     
  9. Prue

    August 3, 2012 at 9:14 am

    Hi Ramble. Thank you so much for dropping by. I’ve not been eating much so have lost a lot of weight but I’m eating a bit more now. Morning is the worst so finding your message was lovely.
    *virtual hug back* xxx

     
  10. Ramble

    August 3, 2012 at 5:05 pm

    Hm…food is good. I highly recommend it.
    I can only imagine how tough it is right now. Are you getting out at all? A little sunshine one the porch, maybe? Just remember folks are still thinking about you.

     
  11. Prue

    August 3, 2012 at 5:16 pm

    Yes I went out in what little sunshine there was this afternoon. The weather has turned changeable again so it wasn’t long before the rain started again. But yes, you’re right. Sunshine is good, as is exercise.
    I find it much easier to eat when there are other people to eat with. My sister and husband are coming tomorrow and will stay with me until after the funeral, and she says her husband will do all the cooking. Sounds good.
    Thanks for your thoughts. They really do help to counteract the feeling of isolation.

     
  12. Ramble

    August 7, 2012 at 5:27 pm

    Glad to hear you have a few folks around to help. Since you have a volunteer cook, I suggest asking for the occasional really strange dish…maybe pierogis, or stuffed grape leaves. See if he can cook it. It could be entertaining.

    Is there anyone you want me to pass info to over on the HTRYN boards? Anything else you need?

     
  13. Prue

    August 8, 2012 at 6:37 pm

    The food is good and as I’m not sure what pierogis is, maybe I’ll pass on that one!

    Thanks for the offer of passing stuff over to HTRYN. I did go over there briefly to post so I think most people know what’s happened.

    I feeling less than good because tomorrow is the service for my husband. A service of thanksgiving in celebration of his life (yeah, I know it’s a funeral really but his life was important). There’ll be a lot of people there and I don’t really like big groups although I’ll know most of them. Some I haven’t seen for years and I just don’t know how I’ll get through it.

    So if you want to do something for me then think of me at 2.30pm tomorrow; and if you feel inclined, say a little prayer to send strength of spirit.

    *hugs*

     
  14. Ramble

    August 8, 2012 at 7:28 pm

    I’m sorry it’s so rough right now…just keep taking care of yourself. Mr. Prue would want that. And I think a celebration of Dez’s life is a wonderful thing. He was so important to so many people, and that’s needs to be remembered. Many hugs coming your way and I’ll be thinking about you tomorrow. *hugs*

     
    • Prue

      August 9, 2012 at 9:58 am

      Thanks Ramble *hugs*

       
  15. Ramble

    August 9, 2012 at 11:41 pm

    Hey there- just dropping a note to let you know I was thinking about you today, and sending good thoughts. Big hug…lots of cocoa.

     
    • Prue

      August 10, 2012 at 9:07 am

      Thanks Ramble, that was kind of you. Big hug back.

       
  16. Diane J Mills

    August 11, 2012 at 4:00 am

    Just dropped by to see how your writing was going. So sorry to hear your sad news. Life does throw us curve balls, and some hurdles seem too huge to get over. Take care of yourself. Hugs from me.

     
  17. Prue

    August 11, 2012 at 7:48 am

    This one was a curve ball made out of iron. It hit me and knocked me over. Right now I feel as if I can’t go on but I will go out today even though I’m feeling so very anxious and shakey. *hugs*

     
  18. KenB

    September 10, 2012 at 12:10 am

    Prue, I’m so sorry for your loss. Loss of any loved one be it spouse, brother, sister, or parent never truly leaves you. I couldn’t imagine … I know I would be going nuts. Reminds me of when my wife’s big brother passed couple years ago. Hang in there. Time and friends will help.

     
    • Prue

      September 10, 2012 at 9:45 am

      Hi Ken, good to see you drop by but sad about the circumstances. I’ve lost both my parents some time ago, and while that caused a lot of grief, I eventually became accustomed to their passing.
      ‘Going nuts’ describes how I feel at present! You are right; time and friends will help. It’s now 2 months since he passed away and it feels like 2 years but also no time at all.
      Thanks for taking time to write a response which I very much appreciate.

       

Leave a Reply

 
