RSS

And Another SFR Bites the Dust!

02 Jul

Last week I managed one single, solitary SFR – and it was like pulling hen’s teeth (and yes you are correct in thinking hens do not have teeth, so that would be very difficult 🙂 ). It took two hours.

Today I did another SFR in half an hour. Things are looking up!

When the going gets tough I try to keep one of Susan Jeffer’s affirmations in mind: “One step at a time is enough for me.”

Of course one step isn’t enough, I want to do it all now! Yet all those small steps, even tiny ones, mount up to a whole lot over a period of time. It’s the keeping going that matters, not the amount. As Kirsten reminded me recently,  there are a finite number of SFRs. Even doing one a week means I will get to the end eventually. Thanks for that Kirsten – sometimes a reminder is just what’s needed 🙂

I don’t know why I find SFRs such a pain (SFR = scene for revision; the putting of the scene and all its parts into one sentence of 30 words or less). Today I was so aware of what was missing from the scene, and how to include it in a way which would make that scene so much stronger – as well as fitting in with the  book’s. So that can’t be bad.

And I still hate SFRs.

I know from the RS feeds I get that at least some of you are following your own stories at varying paces. Knowing how you are doing really helps me to keep at least part of my mind on writing, and helps me find motivation enough to keep on going even if it is only a bit of writing here and there.

Onward! Get in another paragraph/sentence/word before that next job to be done 🙂

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 2, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “And Another SFR Bites the Dust!

  1. rae101049

    July 3, 2012 at 2:51 am

    SFRs are really tough. I hated them, too. But, you will be so glad you took the time with them later. And, honestly, some of mine never pared down to 30 words but, when the time came to use them, they were concise enough to make the scene sharp and tight.
    Keep moving onward! You’re doing it!!

     
    • Prue

      July 4, 2012 at 10:40 pm

      Yes, part of me acknowledges that a lot of useful stuff is coming out of tackling the SFRs. Thanks for your encouragement 🙂

       
  2. Kirsten

    July 3, 2012 at 5:41 am

    I like the idea of rolling over one SFR at a time for a whole day, to really let it simmer. I might do something like that for my present WIP draft. 🙂

    Honestly, SFR’s really bugged me at first too, because I couldn’t seem to get the word count down, and the whole concept of boiling the story down to something so bland rubbed me the wrong way.
    At some point though I realized how bare bones the SFR really needed to be. Without all those busy little words to distract from its simple elegance, I could finally begin to hook the story together in a high level manner.

    Yes, knowing others are out there making progress, and cheering each other onward can be a huge motivator. I’m cheering for you and your SFRs for sure. 🙂

     
    • Prue

      July 4, 2012 at 10:42 pm

      You’re a masochist if you want to spend a day over one SFR 😀
      Thanks for the cheers! It all helps 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
