RSS

…and then there was none

17 Jun

*Blows dust off blog and removes cobwebs*

The blogs I visit on a regular basis usually give notice of disruption. I like that. I know what’s happening. And sometimes Life takes over which is what happened recently with me.

I don’t deal with change very well, and certainly not with changes involving Mr Prue’s health. He’s on the mend again but I got ill too (he believes in sharing!) and so I abandoned this blog.

My characters and Muse seemed to think it was the right time to take a holiday so I’ve done no writing either (stress has that effect on my creativity) apart from a third and last essay for the Ancient Egyptian evening class, which has now ended.

One thing I noticed – and I wonder if it affects you too – that when I write things other than fiction, I use a much more flowing, fictional style than previously.

I’ve been reading (my escape when the going gets tough) and picked ‘Beowulf’ off the shelf – the translation by Seamus Heaney. I have great difficulty in remembering quotations from novels and poetry yet one bit at the beginning has stuck: “Shield Sheafson … wrecker of mead-benches”. I love it.ย He sounds quite a guyย ๐Ÿ™‚

Beowulf, being an Anglo-Saxon text, is strewn with alliteration, and it has obviously affected me. Onย the final read-through of my Egyptian essay, I was surprised to find alliteration had crept in “…an ancient polytheistic pantheon of anthropomorphic gods…”ย  and “…and is, for someone not an Egyptologist, a confused quagmire of fragmentary facts and contradictory conjecture.” ๐Ÿ˜€

I love poetry and the rhythm (and sometimes rhyme) associated with much of it; it’s why I like Shakespeare, Laurie Lee and many others.

This weekend, my characters and Muse came back off holiday and let me know it’s time to be thinking about them again. I felt a rush of affection for them all and takeย their appearance in my thoughtsย as sign that it’s time to start work again.

So, onward! Time to blow the dust and cobwebs off Mystery in Morocco and get to grips with revision.

It’s good to be back ๐Ÿ™‚

 

 
13 Comments

Posted by on June 17, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

13 responses to “…and then there was none

  1. rae101049

    June 17, 2012 at 8:18 pm

    Welcome back. Sorry you both were feeling icky.

    However, time off is good. I was in North Carolina visiting Mom who has Alzheimer’s, going to the beach with my darling brother, and spending time with my wonderful sister-in-law. Also, I reunited with my college buddies. They are just the same, funny, intelligent, liberal people and they love literature of all kinds. We talked books (science fiction included), politics, and the old days. Joe, an old almost boyfriend, gave me a copy of Heinlein’s Door into Summer, original paperback.

    Also, I managed to figure out where and what to cut in my novel. I may be able to reduce it to 100,000 words after all.

    That relief of that burden brought the muse back. I finished chapter 20 and 21 in lesson seventeen. Thank God!

    And, yes, since I’ve concentrated on fiction my non-fiction writing is more chatty and relaxed.

    I too am a lover of alliteration. My novel’s title is alliteration, and I have to control myself when I’m writing. Alliteration is an almost automatic addition :)) as I write, and I don’t want to over do a good thing.

    Again, welcome back. I will blog soon.

     
    • Prue

      June 19, 2012 at 1:36 pm

      Hi Nancy, good to see you again! Thanks for the welcome ๐Ÿ™‚
      Glad to hear you caught up with your family and friends. It recharges the batteries!
      Good news about your novel too. Progress is always pleasing — especially after a block or two.
      I have the opposite to you — my novel needs more words. But I should be able to sort that one out this pass through HTRYN.

       
  2. Kirsten

    June 18, 2012 at 3:33 am

    It’s good that you’re back! I found myself poking around over at your blog, wondering where you went, worried. I hope both you and Mr Prue are in better health before you know it.

    I don’t write much in my day job, but I’ve definitely noticed that my other email correspondence (and my blog posts ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) have flowed from my fingers much more quickly than before I began writing up this storm. In fact, this effect was one of the first things that really demonstrated to me that more writing does indeed lead to (mostly) better writing.
    Once I got that, I was really hooked!

    Your essay sounds like quite a masterpiece! I’m impressed that you took something like that on.

     
    • Prue

      June 19, 2012 at 1:41 pm

      Thanks Kirsten! I hope you didn’t sneeze from disturbing all the dust on my blog ๐Ÿ˜€ I’m a lot better, thanks. Mr Prue was in hospital yesterday to have his lung drained but was home very quickly. Hopefully it will help.

      Perhaps that’s one advantage from blogging? After all it is writing.

      I just hope my tutor thinks he’s reading a masterpiece ๐Ÿ˜€ It’s been a fascinating course and I’m sorry it’s over. There’ll be another course in the autumn on Ancient Egyptian art. I’m using the immersion in things Egyptian to give me ideas for the next book in the series: Enigma in Egypt.

       
  3. Mike Schulenberg

    June 18, 2012 at 4:52 am

    Hi, Prue…welcome back! I need to stage a bit of a comeback, myself. After the disruption of moving and starting summer school, I haven’t established a routine yet as far as writing is concerned. But I’m about to start fixing that ๐Ÿ™‚

     
    • Prue

      June 19, 2012 at 1:42 pm

      Hi Mike! Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚ How did your move go? Are you settled in yet? Moving does disrupt things for sure. Good luck with summer school — and with re-establishing a writing routine. Go you! ๐Ÿ™‚

       
      • Mike Schulenberg

        June 19, 2012 at 8:43 pm

        Thanks! I had my first intro algebra test last week and I did awesome ๐Ÿ™‚ The move went pretty smooth, although I can’t exactly say I’m settled in…most of my stuff is still in boxes everywhere. But otherwise everything’s good ๐Ÿ™‚

         
  4. Ramble

    June 18, 2012 at 4:44 pm

    Welcome back, Prue! It’s good to see the Muse was just taking a little break and has come back to assist! My Muse has been sightseeing lately, as I started a job and didn’t leave a lot of time for writing. I’m another that needs a writing schedule and am working on fixing that (with my boss helping shift my hours around!). You’re an inspiration even when you’re not writing!

     
    • Prue

      June 19, 2012 at 1:45 pm

      Hi Ramble! Thanks very much for your kind words.
      Sounds as if a lot of us, including you, have had a good deal of disruption recently! Your boss sounds a sweetie and very understanding. Good luck with getting a writing routine established, and with your new job ๐Ÿ™‚

       
  5. findingmycreature

    June 19, 2012 at 12:56 pm

    Welcome back…was wondering where you went. See I notice these things ;p Your essay sounds incredible like Kristen said and hope you get back into the swing of things soon : D

     
    • Prue

      June 19, 2012 at 1:48 pm

      Hi fingmycreature! Thanks for the welcome back. It’s lovely to be in contact with you all again. You were all in my thoughts even if I wasn’t here.

      My essay was incredible because I had so little time to write it — although the tutor gave me a few more days. I do hope he finds something creditable about it ๐Ÿ™‚ I love finding out about things and this Ancient Egyptian was a real joy. The folk on the course were a great group too, so it was fun — and fun is always acceptable ๐Ÿ™‚

       
  6. Rabia

    June 23, 2012 at 11:11 pm

    Good to *HAVE* you back!

     
  7. Prue

    June 24, 2012 at 10:21 pm

    Thanks Rabia! ๐Ÿ™‚

     

Leave a Reply

 
