RSS

Time to Sort Out This Blog…

03 Apr

I tried adding a new page for my poems (none uploaded yet). In doing so the other pages seem to have disappeared somewhere. It’s time to take a trip through the ‘help’ section and find out just what I need to do to add more pages and have the menu visible.

This will take time.

I’ve not been doing much writing recently because of various disruptions (details here). What I have been doing (in addition to the said disruptions) is going through Holly Lisle’s How to Think Sideways writing course with Mystery in Morocco.

Now, I know this is doing Holly’s courses in the wrong order. It is more usual to begin with HTTS and move on to HTRYN. However, it occurred to me that there might be lessons which could shed light on some problems I’m having with revision of Mystery in Morocco. There are a couple of lessons which seem to give me exactly what I need!

The other thing which has been occupying my free waking hours is reading through five books by one of my favourite authors, looking at characterisation, plotting and so on. This is, in part, in response to the comments made by readers of The Green Ribbon. Instead of making changes immediately, I’ve been thinking about the structure of the story (possibly needs changing), and taking a look at how someone does it whose work I value highly. Yes, it might be prevarication but I’m learning a lot. 🙂

I was delighted to find HTTS Lesson 20 — How to Read Like a Writer, which goes through in a very clear way, what I’ve been trying to do. I’ve bought another copy of a book, and I’ll be going through the old copy marking it up and looking in greater detail at all the things Holly lists in this lesson. A set of coloured pens await and I can’t wait to get cracking on this lesson.

Oh! And I tidied my desk and can now see the wooden surface 🙂

Happy Easter, Everyone! Have a great holiday.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on April 3, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

8 responses to “Time to Sort Out This Blog…

  1. Ramble

    April 3, 2012 at 4:44 pm

    Congrats on the desk-straightening and rereading lesson twenty sounds like a really good idea. Good luck!

     
    • Prue

      April 4, 2012 at 1:07 am

      Thanks for your good wishes Ramble!
      Yeah — I got to Lesson 20 and it was like a big light came on.

       
  2. rae101049

    April 3, 2012 at 5:49 pm

    Hi, Prue

    Great minds think alike. last night I spent cleaning off my desk in preparation for getting back to revision.

    I study everything I read, carefully. This is such a great way to learn. My problem, though, is when do I just read for fun?

    Like you, I let my ideas evolve before writing them into the novel. It’s not unlike finishing a painting, leaving it where you can see it for a few days. Maybe you’ll see the one perfect thing you need to add, or maybe you’re really done. Either way, you finish!

    N Doyle – Rae

     
    • Prue

      April 4, 2012 at 1:10 am

      Isn’t it wonderful having a clear desk? There’s not even a speck of dust to be seen! 🙂
      As for reading for fun – I think it is possible but somewhere at the back of your mind there’ll be part of you watching and assessing. The trick is to keep that part in the background. Don’t ask me how – I haven’t figured it out yet 😀
      Good luck with getting back to revision.

       
  3. Kirsten

    April 4, 2012 at 12:38 am

    I really like hearing how you move back and forth between the lessons, stitching together what you need, and making progress in your own way. It sounds like such an organic way to learn.
    I’ve been doing some non-linear learning myself, and seeing your process helps reinforce that it might be okay to do that!
    Happy Easter to you and yours!

     
    • Prue

      April 4, 2012 at 1:14 am

      Your comment makes me feel so much better! It was seeming all rather piecemeal and messy. But that word ‘progress’ is the important thing. If there is progress, and learning, then whatever we are doing must be ok. Right? One day writing a book and revising it may all be beautifully linear. Until then, anything goes 😀
      Glad it’s helped you too. Hang on in there! And don’t forget the chocolate 🙂

       
  4. kindleforkids

    April 4, 2012 at 6:11 am

    There’s so much to learn, isn’t there? That’s half the fun of being a writer, but as Rae said, it makes it hard sometimes to read for fun. Reading now is like going to a puppet show – and only seeing the strings.

    Good luck with the Green Ribbon, Prue. I enjoyed reading it and hope my comments were helpful.

    Well done on having a tidy desk. Those two words don’t belong togther in my opinion – but then neither do ‘tidy’ and ‘house’. ;>) I’m a writer, for heaven’s sales. You can’t expect me to have a tidy anything as well.

    Happy Easter, Prue.

     
  5. Prue

    April 4, 2012 at 11:56 am

    There is a lot to learn, you are so right!
    Thanks for your kind words about The Green Ribbon. I really must get back to working on it. I find I concentrate more if I have a reasonably tidy desk. As for the rest of the house, nuff said! 😀
    Just as long as you keep writing. That’s the main thing.

     

Leave a Reply

 
