RSS

And On…

05 Mar

Still on Lesson 1B for Mystery in Morocco but Life got busy last week so I didn’t do much.

The thrill of my week was getting some superb comments back from beta-readers on The Green Ribbon (short story). I felt nervous about letting others critique my work –especially as I didn’t really know two of them — but I’m so glad I took the risk because the comments made are invaluable.

The readers varied in the degree of detail they gave but the comments were all relevant. I sat here feeling euphoric, almost slightly drunk. It was a very pleasant feeling but not conducive to work! I found it so pleasant to work with others, to have other perspectives on my work, and — it has to be said — complimentary things said 😀

Euphoria under control, I spent a couple of days combining the comments into one document, and thinking carefully about all of them. Suprisingly few comments were duplicated. And some were opposites! I needed a break to let it all sink in and spent time with my other writing project.

Ripping out the murder mystery part of the plot in Mystery in Morocco took time but now it’s out, I’m flying. What I particularly enjoy is the experience of having gone through HTRYN to lesson 17 (with MinM) and once all the way through with the short story, so that I now have a very good idea of what needs to go on those 1B sheets and what can be left for a later lesson.

The good news is that I don’t have as many sheets as the first time through 1B with MinM. What has surprised me is the amount of new stuff I’m noting. I’m putting this down to having learned so much since doing this lesson in January/February 2010 so I’m seeing so much more!

There’s still a long way to go but with each step, I get closer to that great book I have in my head. Translating all those feelings and ideas and pictures and scenes into words on paper is a challenge. Thanks to those readers who have given me so much to think about, and an opportunity to make my writing better, I feel well able to take up that challenge.

Thanks guys! 🙂

 
8 Comments

Posted by on March 5, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

8 responses to “And On…

  1. rae101049

    March 6, 2012 at 4:28 am

    Wow, you are moving ahead in leaps and bounds. It is a wonderful feeling to have positive and encouraging input. It fuels our creativity and urges us foward in our writing.

    Also, congrats on taking the big step of having people you don’t know read your fiction. The first time is like stepping out into thin air, trusting you’ll fly and not fall.

    Keep flying!

     
  2. Prue

    March 6, 2012 at 6:24 pm

    Thanks Nancy! It was very scarey and then very encouraging getting comments back. I’ll do my best to stay airborne 🙂

     
  3. Mike Schulenberg

    March 7, 2012 at 7:38 pm

    Keep hanging in there, Prue. You rock 🙂

     
  4. Prue

    March 7, 2012 at 11:04 pm

    Hi Mike! I’m hanging. Need more than the tips of my fingers though!
    Thanks 😀

     
  5. Kirsten

    March 8, 2012 at 1:14 am

    The opposite comments are the weirdest thing, aren’t they? As if it’s not enough, to have to evaluate all the comments, now one has to decide which ones are valid!

    I had that happen to me too, and it really made me think about where I want to go with the writing, and what kind of writer I want to be. Having to decide which advice to follow–or even to ignore both and take a completely different direction–made me feel more like a real writer than ever.

    Seeing all the progress you’re making is so exciting!

     
    • Prue

      March 9, 2012 at 5:53 pm

      Yes, they are weird. And yet the show just how varied peoples’ responses are so we must write for ourselves.
      As for the rest – my head is still in a whirl! Advice needs to be handled with care 🙂

       
      • rae101049

        March 9, 2012 at 6:48 pm

        Yes, write for yourself.
        The way people respond to a book is as varied as people themselves.
        I’ve been debating on how to handle a certain intimate scene in my novel. How much is too much; how far is too far? It boils down to: know your audience and then, within those confines, write what you would like to read.

         
  6. Prue

    March 9, 2012 at 8:10 pm

    It’s separating out personal differences from those comments which indicate something is missing/unclear/illogical/wrong — and it isn’t always easy 🙂

    As far as intimacy goes — what are you ok with writing?
    I guess if we want to develop as writers, then we need to push ourselves a little and get into that place where we feel a tad uncomfortable with what we’re writing.

    Thanks for your comment rae, because it’s made me realise I’m ok with reading intimate things which I would not feel at all comfortable writing.

     

Leave a Reply

 
