RSS

Getting Ready…

09 Feb

I’ve mooched around trying to decide what to do. The choices: either finish HTRYN (write synopsis and query letter; followed by review of revision) and get my ‘pip’ for doing so, or start revising my novel Mystery in Morocco. This will be the second time through with HTRYN.

Yes, yes, I know it’s only supposed to be one pass through but that novel was not a novel when I started HTRYN two years ago. It was my first ever try at writing a book and I made every mistake a new writer makes, and then some ๐Ÿ™‚

I reckon that what I finished up with was more like a first draft, rather than unplanned ramblings! And a lot has been learned along the way.

I want to return to my characters in the novelย and get it sorted out. It is a novel now but still has the remains of plot threads which don’t belong in it. After the first pass through, then HTRYN with a short story, I reckon I can do justice to my characters and give them the plot they’ve been waiting so patiently for.

Trying to decide what to do has held me in check. Today I realised it doesn’t have to be either/or. I do both. Work on one in the morning, the other in the afternoon. Simples ๐Ÿ™‚

Sometimes I just don’t see the obvious!

Today I’ve been printing out all the worksheets for HTRYN, and collecting all the bits and pieces for reviewing the revision of the short story.

If nothing else, it will take my mind off the fact that other people have my short story to read ๐Ÿ™‚

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 9, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “Getting Ready…

  1. rae101049

    February 9, 2012 at 11:27 pm

    Amazing, isn’t it, how the obvious slides by in a tidal wave of indecision?

    Your decision is good. And, after all the work you’ve already done HTRYN will be faster. I’m thinking of the comment that Holly made in Lesson 14, page 7. It made such an impression on me I have it posted on my screen.

    And I am the god of rewriting in the one revision I do per book. In a whole
    250,000 word first draft, Iโ€™ll have a couple dozen pages with no marks on
    them. Thatโ€™s all. Easily 50% of my cards will be red or orange. The yellows
    will trend toward the high end of the 40% fix range most of the time. And
    even the green cards NEVER mean โ€œno change necessary.โ€
    I will change the bad to make it good, but I will also change the good to
    make it better. And I will change the better if I see a way to make it great.
    Any amount of rewriting of your first draft is worth the effort it takes
    to make your book the book you want to have written by the end of
    your first revision/rewrite.
    How To Revise Your Novel: Lesson 14 — Simple Time: Dealing With Time Crises
    ยฉ 2010 Holly Lisle – All Rights Reserved. http://HowToReviseYourNovel.com
    Page

    So, first or second draft, the effort it takes is worth the result.

    And, btw, I’ve pushed through chapter four. Just a few checks for continuity and on to chapter five!
    Thanks for the encouragement.

    You are doing great. Onward, girlfriend!

     
    • Kirsten

      February 10, 2012 at 1:32 am

      ‘Any amount of rewriting of your first draft is worth the effort it takes…’

      Thanks. ๐Ÿ™‚ I needed this!

      *scurries back to lesson 14 to see what else I might have missed* ๐Ÿ˜‰

       
    • Prue

      February 11, 2012 at 7:18 pm

      Thanks for your support! ๐Ÿ™‚
      And also for reminding me of Holly’s words.
      Great news about your progress too.
      Onward we go indeed…

       
  2. Kirsten

    February 10, 2012 at 1:28 am

    Welcome to the world of working on two projects at once!
    I’ve been juggling two projects at a time pretty much since I started HTRYN, and resigned myself to things being just a little slower in each. I think it’s been worth it.
    You will have that beautiful little pip to show your completion before you know it. It’s a hard one to get, so be proud! I know I will be when I get mine. ๐Ÿ˜€
    And I have a feeling the second time through the course will be a cinch, especially compared to how tough the first time is. ๐Ÿ™‚

     
    • Prue

      February 11, 2012 at 7:21 pm

      Heh! I used to juggle three or four projects at once at work but writing seems different.

      Yes, second time through HTRYN for me was certainly different because mostly I had the overall picture of where I was heading. The first time is definitely the worst.

      Hang on in there Kirsten. You’ll get there. As rae says, “Onward!”

       

Leave a Reply

 
