RSS

The End – Almost

19 Jan

As I’ve been going through the type-in of The Green Ribbon, I’ve been aware of a growing nervousness as The End approached. Each completed scene has taken me one step closer to that day when I let someone else read my story.

Eeeeeek!

I’ve finished the type-in and it stands at 10, 743 words. It’s not quite finished though as there are three things to do: Firstly, I want to read it through and look for typos. Secondly, it needs dividing into chapters. Thirdly there is still an outstanding promise.

Outstanding promises must be dealt with! This one is a pair of candle sticks. I’d get rid of them if I could but they are integral to the first scene and I can’t see any way round them. If they stay, then they need to appear later. I think this can be achieved by the MC thinking about them – she has a lot of unbidden thoughts linked to a vet she meets. That will be enough to justify their presence.

Why I didn’t deal with this during revision I’m not sure. I knew about it. It’s as if, during revision, there is only so much I can deal with at once. Or perhaps I don’t want revision to be over because of eyes other than mine seeing those words?

 

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 19, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “The End – Almost

  1. Kirsten

    January 20, 2012 at 1:33 am

    Eeeeek! indeed. 🙂
    I feel your pain. It is so hard for me to let other eyes see my precious story. It feels as if it might disappear from between my fingers if someone doesn’t see what I do. A strange thing it is.

    As for loose ends, I think that sometimes the Muse leaves these on purpose, to keep the writing interesting. If everything were wrapped up perfectly it might end up being boring to sit down with the story!

    (If by chance you’d like for me to take a look at your story, shoot me an message at the Boot Camp. I’d love to see it!)

     
    • Prue

      January 20, 2012 at 10:52 am

      *lol* I woke in the night, convinced the story was so awful that it needed deleting – then of course it wouldn’t have to be read by anyone 🙂

      Great that your Muse adds loose ends of the acceptable sort!
      Loose ends I have but those candlesticks appear prominently at the beginning, never to be heard of again, which is not good.

      Thank’s very much for offering to read my story. I will take you up on that offer when I’ve finished.

       
  2. rae101049

    January 20, 2012 at 2:20 am

    I’m already having the nervousness you’ve described, and I’m not close to Lesson 21 yet. Two Beta readers crunched the first draft before I started Holly’s course, but the thought of letting strangers read it is scary — YIKES.

    And, something else is bugging me. I don’t want the book to end. Of course, it has to and it has a good ending. But, when I’m done, what next?

    I agree with Kirsten about the loose ends. Have to have them. They can be fodder for another story, perhaps?

     
    • Prue

      January 20, 2012 at 10:58 am

      Hi Rae,
      I know all about that not wanting the book to end. Putting in so much effort, getting to know the characters, becoming comfortable with the world and then…The End. Ugh!

      So…when you’ve finished, you write another 🙂

      I agree about the loose ends and wrote them in to my novel even though one of the main characters gets killed. With this short story I could write a sequel as the end of it is also a beginning.

       

Leave a Reply

 
