RSS

Lesson 21

13 Jan

What happened to 20?

I did the checking of beginning and endings of scenes. Most seemed to be ok, and I also found two scenes for which I had no index cards! The next part – checking the pacing – was hard because there were so many additions to the manuscript it was difficult to read.

So, I stopped and went on to Lesson 21; the type-in *fanfare of trumpets*.

This is as intensive as other lessons but in a very different way. The idea is to make the changes to the manuscript on the computer without reading the story, using search and find (which I had to search and find before I could use it! :D).

I had one of those magical moments when adding all the changes to the scene where my MC, who has had a ghastly day, and then sees something which she feels touched by. Because Holly’s method means not reading the whole scene through again, I was focussed on the MC at the end of this event. And suddenly I was there with my MC, and found a sentence appearing on the screen which captured just what my MC felt. It was a sentence which I had wanted to write but hadn’t been able to find the words. Today I did 😀

Seeing words appearing on the screen, as they come from deep in my mind and through my fingers without me being aware of them, is something which gives me tingles. It makes my hair stand on end and I love it! 😀

A good day today with this breakthrough. Did you have any breakthroughs large or small? Any moments of pure creativity?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 13, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Lesson 21

  1. Kirsten

    January 14, 2012 at 3:23 am

    It gave me tingles to read about your breakthrough! I think I’m addicted to those moments.

    As I approach these last HTRYN lessons, I find so many ideas clicking into place. Each time it happens, I gain more respect for the writer within me that some call the Muse. Sometimes it doesn’t feel like it’s me at all that makes those words appear, but instead some other person who decided I must write this story. 🙂

     
    • findingmycreature

      January 15, 2012 at 7:53 am

      This post gave me tingles too! I cannot wait until I finally get to the write in! Until then I’ll cheer for all off you on the sidelines!

       
      • Prue

        January 15, 2012 at 11:12 am

        Thanks for the cheers 😀

         
  2. Prue

    January 14, 2012 at 10:44 am

    😀 Tingles are cool!
    It’s great you’re getting a lot of ideas. It is you that’s doing it. But I know what you mean. Those creative moments sometimes feel as if the words are flowing out from someone or somewhere else. But it is you! I think that’s true creativity. Enjoy 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
