RSS

Lesson 19 Finished

06 Jan

Lesson 19 is all about words and has been awesome. I love words and considered myself articulate. I may be but this lesson has underscored the point Holly makes that every word should have a function and be in the story for a reason.

I have removed clutter, talking heads, inconsistencies, ensured actions have consequences and that the whole thing flows. It is difficult to know how well it flows after being so close to this story for so many weeks; that is flows more fluidly than it did I do not doubt!

One problem has arisen: the ending is limp. It hasn’t got that nice, rounded, satisfactory feel I was hoping for. Now that I’ve had a go at writing various endings, it’s on the backburner to bubble away for a while.

And now…on to Lesson 20.

Wherever you are in Holly’s course, keep working away at it. Sometimes things move fast; more often it’s hard work. There’s always something new to learn though.

And if you haven’t done any of Holly Lisle’s writing courses then you might want to check out her website http://hollylisle.com/ .

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 6, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Lesson 19 Finished

  1. Kirsten

    January 7, 2012 at 4:10 am

    Congrats on finishing Lesson 19! It sure sounds like a challenging one. (And I can’t wait to get started on that one. 😉 )
    I wouldn’t sweat that ending yet. After all, you do have a few more lessons to go. 😀

     
  2. Prue

    January 7, 2012 at 3:10 pm

    It was challenging…and it was worth every minute spent on it 🙂
    I hope you’ll love it when you get there – it gives a whole different perspective on writing. Each lesson does, of course, but I wasn’t quite prepared for where this lesson took me.

    Thanks for the encouragement. Only one more lesson to go before the type-in and then I’m through.

     

Leave a Reply

 
