RSS

Lesson 19 and… disaster…then a HEA ending

17 Nov

My latest version of my short story has vanished! Aaarrrggghhhhh!

The hard copy which I did my revision on is safe, sound and solid in my hands; it’s the electronic version which has disappeared. It must have been electronic at one stage because I printed off a copy. Where it’s gone to I suppose I’ll never know.

I’ve lost single scenes before, and I know exactly how that happened so I’ve taken steps to ensure it doesn’t happen again. I find it terribly frustrating to have just written a scene – especially if I’m pleased with it – only to find it no longer exists.

But loosing a whole set of scenes put together as one document? That’s a new one!

I don’t know how it happened. It seems that I need to review the way I work and be mindful of what I’m doing – even when I’m pushed for time or when interrupted.

PS Thanks to Carole, I’ve now located the missing document!  Thanks very much for encouraging me to go back and check through things properly 🙂 Your suggestion has saved me heaps of work!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 17, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Lesson 19 and… disaster…then a HEA ending

  1. C. L. Englehaupt (Roth)

    November 17, 2011 at 2:11 pm

    Have you tried clicking on recent activity? My word processing program has a place where it shows a list of the things I’ve worked on recently. Its worth a try.

     
    • Prue

      November 17, 2011 at 3:50 pm

      Thanks for the suggestion, Carole. My program has a similar list and it wasn’t there.
      However, I’ve just been back to look and there is also a list called ‘Recent Places’. Through that, I found the document! Yay! 😀

      I had saved it in the wrong folder! *embarrassed blush*
      As usual, I do things in a rush and didn’t check through everything on the screen. Slow and steady is what’s needed…which I’m not.
      So thanks a million for your suggestion which prompted me to go back and look properly 🙂

       
  2. estuary

    November 18, 2011 at 8:02 am

    Oh, Prue! What a relief! Hooray for Carole! It’s such a shock to realize something is missing and I’m glad you found it. 🙂

     
    • Prue

      November 18, 2011 at 10:19 pm

      You’re right. It was a huge relief 🙂
      Carole was the writing-equivalent of a guardian angel this week! I am so thankful.
      While I can cope with losing the occasional scene, a whole story was a bit much.

      Then my husband stepped in and asked if I’d backed up on the external drive. I hadn’t. That’s something else I need to do regularly.

       

Leave a Reply

 
