RSS

Lesson 17 finished

27 Oct

Well, that was a blast ๐Ÿ˜€

This is the furthest I’ve ever got with HTRYN. My novel is still languishing until I’ve got more time and brain power to deal with it. I printed off my typed-in copy (handwriting the thing when you’ve got more new material than old is really not on) of the short story and sat down for a read of itย this afternoon.

Yikes! The old ‘this is no good, it’s crap, bin it, do something more productive with your time’ etc etc hit me round the back of the neck. Now, since starting Holly’s classes I thought I’d got a hold on this nasty element of me. It’s been under lock and key and hasn’t caused much in the way of problems recently.

I assume it’s crept out of the woodwork because I’ve gone that bit further. And hey! I might actually get it finished and published. Nothing like a bit of self-sabotage from that dark, sabotagey part of me to throw the cat amongst the pigeons. I know it happens, and it seems so very plausible and seems to be giving me such correct information about myself. So I find myself believing it!

Meh! I’ve shelved it until tomorrow and then will have another go. And read the next Lesson in HTRYN. Mustn’t forget to do that ๐Ÿ™‚

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 27, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Lesson 17 finished

  1. Kirsten

    November 1, 2011 at 2:51 am

    Hi Prue,
    I stumbled on this in your signature over at HTRYN and found it fascinating to read about your progress. Great work on getting this far!
    I’ll have to stop by here more often. ๐Ÿ™‚

     
  2. Prue

    November 1, 2011 at 4:04 pm

    Hi Kirsten. Welcome to my blog.
    It started off as an HTTS walkthrough but that seems to have faded away and I’ve gone on to do my own thing.

    Thanks for the encouragement too. This is absolutely the furthest I’ve got. Have now read Lesson 18 but NaNo starts today so…

    Do stop by again. My other blog address can be found in my signature on Holly’s forum. You can feed the fish on that one ๐Ÿ˜€

     
  3. hollylisle (@hollylisle)

    November 9, 2011 at 5:15 pm

    I apologize for dragging on the walkthrough. Doing one today…but the migraines are back, and I’ve had today’s for a full week now. Since LAST Wednesday.

    I’m pushing hard to get it done, though.

     
  4. Prue

    November 9, 2011 at 6:06 pm

    Ugh! That’s definitely not good. I hope it goes soon, Holly.
    When I said it seems to have faded away, that was sloppy writing. I have faded away because my story took over and I followed its call rather than went along with the Walkthrough.

    I like working in a ‘group’ even if it’s a virtual one but I’m finding out that writing is something which has to be done alone, and at my pace and my pace only.

    It’s great having the forum and being in contact with others who know what it’s like, because it can be a lonely occupation!

     

Leave a Reply

 
