RSS

Lesson 4

20 May

Mr Prue has been very poorly and went into hospital for a short time. This had the effect of disconnecting Muse and she disappears from long periods of time.

However, Mr Prue is on the mend and in spite of everything I’ve plodded through Lesson 4 ahead of Holly and managed to sketch out plots for two short stories.

Scotland: I’m excited about this one because it is set in a remote Scottish glen and has a hint of mystery with it. It took a long time to come up with anything approaching the Sentence! I’m now proud owner of a 30 word Sentence so there’s something to work on – much easier than a blank piece of paper 😀

France: Involving a river boat on the Rhone and a tanned Captain who looks forbidding but appearances can be deceptive…

The third idea is coming together but hasn’t quite made it yet. Under the circumstances, though, I’m pleased with what I’ve done.

Holly’s walkthrough of the first part of Lesson 4 is a cracker. I’ve done HTRYN and HTTS before but this does add some details which are really useful. The colourful worksheet on how to get ideas when all else fails has come at the right time and I’ll be trying this out to get my third story idea this weekend!

Although the last couple of weeks hasn’t been a productive time for me as far as writing is concerned, I’ve got to grips with housework and gardening which I find very useful in times of stress. It gives me something active to do; I get evidence of my efforts in the gleaming dust-free wood, tidy rooms and an organised veg patch; and I can listen to Radio 4 extra – lots of comedy, short stories and plays.

Hope you’re all getting to grips with the Walkthrough and enjoying it as much as I am. I find it fascinating to watch Holly at work 🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 20, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Lesson 4

  1. Stephanie

    May 31, 2011 at 10:00 pm

    Congrats on coming up with those two short stories. Calling down lightening two weeks ago got me a really neat take on a werewolf story. Holly lessons are batting a thousand.

    I hope Mr. Prue is back on his feet soon.

     
  2. Prue

    June 3, 2011 at 2:30 pm

    Thanks Stephanie 🙂

    Good to hear your lightning strike produced a cool story.
    Good luck with it!

     

Leave a Reply

 
